top of page

Five Songs on my Writing Playlist

Updated: Jan 21, 2021

Did I listen to music while writing Ink Adept?


The answer is yes, I definitely listen to music while I'm writing. This serves two purposes: one, it helps limit outside noise and possible distractions, and two, it reminds me to get up and move around every so often, so my legs don't turn into rocks. Writing unfortunately involves a LOT of time sitting down. I like standing desks, but sometimes I'm tired, okay?

My music recommendations are probably a little different from most writing blogs, because I have a secret: I LOVE BOLLYWOOD MUSIC!! While I usually try not to listen to music with lyrics, because that can be distracting, I find that music that isn't in my native language is just fine. See also: Gregorian chants, Chinese pop, Sindarin, etc.

So without further ado, here are five songs that never leave my writing playlist.


1: Tum Se Hi (Jab We Met)


This is probably the sweetest, most hummable song ever made. The movie, Jab We Met, is also amazing and I highly recommend you check it out.


2: Out of the Woods (Taylor Swift)


"But wait, TatiAnna," you're saying. "Didn't you just say you avoid music with English lyrics?" Yeah yeah, I make an exception for a song as cool as this one.


3: Baba Yetu (Christopher Tin, Alex Boyé cover)


All of Alex Boyé's music, really, but especially this one.


4. The Bridge Of Khazad-Dûm (Howard Shore)


This song never gets old, and it's a great background for when you're trying to write action-heavy, exciting scenes. Those are the hardest scenes for me to write, and I owe Howard Shore a huge debt for helping me get through them.


5. Beethoven's 5 Secrets (The Piano Guys)


I can't say enough about these guys. What joyful music they make! I love listening to them no matter what mood I am or what mood I'm writing.

To learn more about my writing and for more awesome song recommendations, please subscribe! And if you're curious to learn more about my novel, Ink Adept, it's now available to buy on Amazon.com!

Related Posts

See All

Comentários


Leave a comment!

Buy Ink Adept

Pick up your copy of Ink Adept today!

bottom of page